Boy Scouts of America

Cub Scouting

The Cub Scout Program of the Boy Scouts of America teaches young boys about the 12 Core Values of Scouting:

1. Citizenship 
2. Compassion 
3. Cooperation 
4. Courage 
5. Faith 
6. Health and fitness 
7. Honesty 
8. Perseverance 
9. Positive attitude 
10. Resourcefulness 
11. Respect 
12. Responsibility

Cub Scouting is for boys in the first through fifth grades, or 7 to 10 years of age. Boys who are older than 10, or who have completed the fifth grade, can no longer join Cub Scouting, but they may be eligible to join the Boy Scouting or Venturing program.

Cub Scouting is a program of the Boy Scouts of America—so in that sense, Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts are both members of the same organization. However, they are entirely different programs: Cub Scouting is a family-oriented program designed specifically to address the needs of younger boys.

For more about the Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts of America, visit